Unknown LDAP error occured - Group Add Member dialog

General Discussion about LDAP Administrator

Moderator: Support

Unknown LDAP error occured - Group Add Member dialog

Postby lucasjones » Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:24 am

Hi there

I'm trialing your software and have a problem administering the members of a GroupofNames type group.

I can see the members in the HTML view and add members via LDIF. But I can't use the 'Add Members' dialog screen. There is a message next to the OK button saying 'Error: Unknwon LDAP error occured".

Likewise, when I look at the Member Of tab in the people OU, the same error occurs.

I'd like to use your software since it's very complete, but it's a problem for me if I can't administer groups properly. Is this a problem with my LDAP setup or perhaps some configuration that needs to occur?

Thanks, Lucas
lucasjones
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:04 am

Re: Unknown LDAP error occured - Group Add Member dialog

Postby lucasjones » Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:43 am

I think I worked it out after searching on similar topics.

The Group Membership tab of Properties sorted me out.
lucasjones
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:04 am

Re: Unknown LDAP error occured - Group Add Member dialog

Postby Support » Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:21 am

Hi Lucas,

Could you please specify what LDAP server (vendor\version) do you use?
Support
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2001 12:00 am

Re: Unknown LDAP error occured - Group Add Member dialog

Postby lucasjones » Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:49 pm

Hi there

We're using OpenLDAP 2.4.

LDAP Administrator 2013 is looking pretty good, we'll likely buy a license. It's nice to be able to use a GUI that works - you probably know there are a lot out there that require template editing to maintain the various configs people use.

I've noticed that all of my groupOfUniqueNames members are all doubled up - each name is in the list twice. I'll let you know if I solve that problem.

Lucas
lucasjones
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:04 am

Re: Unknown LDAP error occured - Group Add Member dialog

Postby lucasjones » Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:53 pm

Fairly quick fix for that although I'm not sure on the repercussions of changing the setting.

Under Group Search, in the object classes, I removed the Membership attribute and set it back to auto.
lucasjones
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:04 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron