how to see ou=roles under an organization

Postby deepshar027 » Fri May 11, 2007 1:03 am

Hi,

I am new to LDAP so please dont mind:)

I want to browse roles under an Org however I olny see
ou=People
ou=Groups
ou=Services

Can u please tell me what can I do to browse roles under an org.
I tried putting filter (ou=Roles) for an org but it doesnt help.

Thanks very much for any pointers.

deep.
deepshar027

Postby ratnashilpa » Fri May 11, 2007 6:42 am

hi thr,

first of all u create a organizational unit under ur root hierarchy.........

like ull have dc=mydomain,dc=com root hierrachy rt,,,,,,rt click on it and create a organizational unit something like ou=roles or watever.
then u can go about creating ur roles within it.
people,groups and special users r those which come with LDAP installer..........so its better v create our own "ou" for users roles and all separately
u can as well create roles under ur "ou" thru java code.

hope it helps :)
ratnashilpa

thnks

Postby deepshar027 » Fri May 11, 2007 8:35 am

Hi Ratna,

I m actually talking bout ldap browser.I have already create roles in the portal but i dont see a ou=roles node in ldap browser.

thanks,
Deepak.
deepshar027

Postby ratnashilpa » Fri May 11, 2007 10:57 am

hey deepak...
well in that case.....if u have created an "ou" for role.,,,tat shouldnt be a problem to browse for it in browser.
just to help.......cud u send the hierarchy structure of how "ou"s r thr in ur server.........in tat case i can help u out........
ratnashilpa

Postby deepshar027 » Fri May 11, 2007 4:27 pm

Hi Ratna,

i am attaching the doc for your reference...It shows the directory structure.I hope it helps u in identifying my problem..!!

In the image attached..when i give ou=roles in place of (objectclass=*) it doesnt show me roles structure.

Thanks for ur help.

Regards,
Deep.
Attachments
ldapBrowser.JPG
ldapBrowser.JPG (184.44 KiB) Viewed 27654 times
deepshar027

Postby ratnashilpa » Mon May 14, 2007 11:03 am

hey deepak.....